Archived News‎ > ‎Chorleywood‎ > ‎

Review of Three Rivers wards. Or how to split Chorleywood...

posted 4 Jun 2013, 13:01 by Unknown user   [ updated 4 Jun 2013, 14:06 ]
We wrote previously about changes to the number of District Councillors. The output of that work was to reduce the number of councillors to 39 for the District, allowing for 13 wards with 3 councillors each.

Now the Local Government Boundary Commission for England are considering the second stage of their consultation for Three Rivers, how to reorganise the ward boundaries so that there are 13 wards, and to check that you agree with the output of the first consultation.

The Chorleywood Residents’ Association is considering a response to this consultation. Will the boundary change matter for Chorleywood? The Chorleywood area is already split in two – Chorleywood East and Chorleywood West. And because of the size of the urban area and the number of voters it will need to be split in two.

In future – if the proposals are accepted, the District ward boundary will broadly be the Metropolitan Railway line.
  • A new ward "Chorleywood North and Sarratt" will include Sarratt (much to their dismay, they argue as the most rural area of Three Rivers they need their own District Councillor to argue their case)
  • And "Chorleywood South and Maple Cross" will include Maple Cross and parts of Mill End.
  • The ward sizes are generally larger across the district to reflect the decrease in the number of wards to 39.
We have prepared a map of the proposed and current boundaries taken from the Commission website.
This also gives you a view of the current parish boundaries and country ward boundaries for information - these will not change.

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England is asking people across Three Rivers district to comment on its draft proposals for new council ward boundaries. 

A twelve-week public consultation on the recommendations has begun and will end on 8 July 2013. The consultation is open to anyone who wants to have their say on new council wards, ward boundaries and ward names across the district.

The Commission’s draft recommendations propose that Three Rivers District Council should have 39 councillors in the future, nine fewer than the current arrangements. The recommendations also outline how those councillors should represent thirteen three-member wards across the district.

The full recommendations and detailed interactive maps are available on the Commission’s website at and Hard copies of the Commission’s report and maps will also be available to view at council buildings and libraries.

Max Caller CBE, Chair of the Commission, said: “We are publishing proposals for a new pattern of wards across Three Rivers district and we are keen to hear what local people think of the recommendations. Over the next twelve weeks, we are asking local people to tell us if they agree with the proposals or if not, how they can be improved. Our review aims to deliver electoral equality for local voters. This means that each councillor represents a similar number of people so that everyone’s vote in council elections is worth roughly the same regardless of where you live. We also want to ensure that our proposals reflect the interests and identities of local communities across Three Rivers district and that the pattern of wards can help the council deliver effective local government to local people. We will consider all the submissions we receive whoever they are from and whether your evidence applies to the whole district or just part of it.”

The Commission wants to hear as much evidence as possible in order to develop final recommendations for Three Rivers District Council. If you would like to make a submission to the Commission, please write or email by 8 July 2013:

The Review Officer (Three Rivers)
Local Government Boundary Commission for England
Layden House
76-86 Turnmill Street

What is your view? Do the ward boundaries matter? How should we respond? Get in touch!